DIY Candle Making Tutorial

Standard

20120418_9792

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love candles! I saw a Pinterest post a while ago about how to make your own candles and wanted to try it myself (you can see the blog post “DIY Survival Candles” here).

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • soy wax flakes
  • wicks
  • glass jars
  • wooden chop sticks, not pulled apart
  • a crayon or two of your desired color(s)
  • candle scents in a flavor of your choice

I looked up a few of the closest craft stores and called around to see who had soy wax flakes and wicks, etc. It turned out a local soap shop had everything I needed. Before buying wax and wicks do some research or ask the shopkeeper which ones are compatible. My first candles would burn out because the wax didn’t burn as quickly as the wick, and the opposite can also be a problem.

When I bought the soy wax flakes I way overestimated how much I would need. Start small and if you want to make more get more — to start you probably don’t need more than a pound. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

  1. Set up jars and center wicks in them, keeping them stable by pinching the top part of the wick between the chopsticks and setting the chopsticks over the opening of the jar (see picture).

    You'll notice the chopsticks are broken in this picture -- it is much easier if they are not broken apart.

    You’ll notice the chopsticks are broken in this picture — it is much easier if they are not broken apart.

  2. Melt the wax. You can do this in one of two ways. Melt the crayon and soy wax flakes in a double broiler or equivalent (a small pot set into a bigger pot filled with water over the stove), or you can put it in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for two minute intervals until it is completely melted. Try to use a pan or container that you dont care about too much; the wax will come off, but it takes some work. A note on the crayon: you only need about half a stick per pound, give or take, mix it in once everything is melted.

    Use a double broiler (or equivalent) or a microwave-safe container to melt the wax in.

    Use a double broiler (or equivalent) or a microwave-safe container to melt the wax in.

  3. Once all is melted and the desired color, add in the candle scent and stir.
  4. Pour the wax into the jars, leaving a little extra wax for later, and set them somewhere safe to dry. Once they have dried you may notice there is an indentation around the wick. Reheat the remaining wax and pour it into the jar and let dry.
    Notice the indentations around the wick.

    Notice the indentations around the wick.

    I didn't think to leave any extra wax mixture left over to fill the indentations, so I had to use plain soy wax to fill them up, which is why it looks white and milky on top.

    I didn’t think to leave any extra wax mixture left over to fill the indentations, so I had to use plain soy wax to fill them up, which is why it looks white and milky on top.

  5. Trim the wick and enjoy your home made candle!

20120418_9796

I’m going to be publishing another post about how to recycle candles by making new ones out of old ones. I’ve had a lot of luck with it, so stay tuned!

Cheers,

Laina

If you enjoy crafts such as this one check out more on my pinterest.

If you enjoy cooking take a look at Small Detail Food, yum!

 

 

 

17 responses »

  1. I’m not a candle person, but these look awesome. I love that you use crayons for the colour, most tutorials I have seen require you purchase some expensive specialty product 🙂

    • That depends on the size of your candle. I left mine overnight to dry. I would suggest leaving them for a while, since it’s hard to tell if the inside is completely dry. If you want to speed up the process, putting them in the freezer will do the trick 🙂

      • Not all glass and containers can just be put into the freezer when hot because not all glass containers or ceramics are made for that. Example:( blue flower corning ware can do this but my thick glass drinkn9ing glass will not! ) And never light a candle going from freezer to heating up for enjoyment!! Glass will explode! I would not recommend freezer I would recommend patience.

    • I bought in bulk so yes, but it depends on where you buy your supplies. If you don’t want to spend the time, try finding candles at the goodwill or other thrift store. Stay tuned for my “Candle melting tutorial” where I explain how to make new candles from old ones that won’t burn anymore. Definitely cheaper!

  2. Pingback: From Lovers with Love » It Doesn't Matter How Candles Are Made as Long as There is Love. DIY Collection

  3. Can you please tell me if you have done your “Candle melting tutorial” for making new candles out of old ones as I am going to start making candles out of my old ones, please let me know, thank you, if you have can you please send me the link so that I could have a look. thank you.

    • Unfortunately I have not, my old computer had all my pictures on it for the tutorial. The short version: collect old candles that you want to melt together to make a new one (keep colors and scents in mind). Put them in a large pot of cold water and bring to a boil until the wax is melted. Using old hot pads (might get wax on them), pour into the new jar and insert the wick. Let dry 🙂 Per PaintingSky’s concern regarding hot/cold with the glass jars, I have never had them break during this process but do be careful!

    • Do you mean how many cups of wax flakes does it take? That depends, I would pour water into your mason jar to where you want the wax to fill, then pour that in a measuring cup to see how much melted wax you’ll need. Then melt your wax and if you need more add as necessary.

  4. Pingback: Make your own candles! | Natural Living and How to Do It

  5. Pingback: Signs of spring… | Moon and Shadow

    • Yes! If the scent isn’t very strong you can add in the same or other scents you feel would go with the current one. You would need to melt your unused candle down and mix in the scent, re-set the wick and let it dry.

Leave a Reply

