Great Expectations

Standard

I have been meaning to start a blog for a long time now. Countless friends have asked me if I have one, being a writer and all, but I’ve always been a journal sort of girl. I’m excited to start Small Detail Crafts, as it combines the things I love most — writing, editing and crafting/upcycling. A broke college student (soon-to-be broke graduate), it is only practical for me to use things that are cheap or free, but I am also very earth-conscious. I have always been very interested in environmental sciences and environmental studies. I took a few classes in college and almost minored in it, but for now I am just a saver who now has all this saved stuff (not junk!) that is just waiting to be upcycled! I even saved a plate my roommate broke so I can use it to make a mosaic table I saw in a Martha Stewart book my mom got me for christmas a couple years ago (which I tried to find on Martha’s website, but the closest I got was a Mosaic Mirror. Same idea though). Needless to say, I have a lot of things that my boyfriend would roll his eyes at and throw away if he had the chance. I can’t wait to have a craft room with tons of places to put everything so I can finally be organized about my “saving” (my preferred term), but that will have to wait until I graduate, if not until after I can afford organization installations.

Here are a couple of projects I can’t wait to try:

Egg carton flower lights (did you know you can get free egg cartons off of craigslist?)

Homemade bath salts and body scrub (This will be my Xmas gift to all my girlfriends)

Anything button related (button wreaths, button ornaments, you name it)

More handmade gift bags (I made eleven last night instead of editing my essay, I will share how I did them soon!)

For now, I must satisfy myself with the “great expectations” I have for my new blog, and all the free time I hope to have soon (ha!).

Happy Upcycling!

One response »

Leave a Reply

